Austria Complete Year Set - Austrian State Treaty 2005

Obverse of Austria Complete Year Set - Austrian State Treaty 2005

Please ignore the date on the coins

Details The Year Set consists of: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 cent coins and 1, 2 euros commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Austrian State Treaty (unc)

Austria chose to produce a series of coins illustrating flowers, architecture and famous people from its history. The designs were chosen by a national panel and public opinion poll. All designs are by the hand of Josef Kaiser and they include the 12 stars of the EU and the year of imprint. The coins have a unique design for each denomination, with a common theme for each of the three series of coins.

The coins feature the gentian, the edelweiss, the primrose (flowers of the Austrian Alps), St Stephen's Cathedral, the Belvedere Palace, the Secession Building and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The 2 euro coin depicts a reproduction of the signatures and seals in the Austrian State Treaty, which was signed by the foreign ministers and ambassadors of the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, the United States and France, and by Leopold Figl, Foreign Minister of Austria, in May 1955.

To return to the previous page, please hit the Back button on your browser or click here