Luxembourg Official Blister 2007

Obverse of Luxembourg Official Blister 2007
Details The Luxembourg 2007 Official BU Set contains the 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 cent coins and 1, 2 euros (unc), as well as two 2 euro commemorative coins "Grand Duke Henri - Grand Ducal Palace" and the 50th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome".

The set is the third in a series of seven blisters dedicated to the different architectural periods depicted on the euro banknotes and present in Luxemburg. The 2007 set shows the architectural period presented on the 20 euro banknotes, the gothique period.

Luxembourg euro coins feature three different designs, though they all contain the portrait or effigy of Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg. The Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg appears on the coins facing to the left. He was not featured on the Luxembourgish franc as he only became Grand Duke in 2000 following the abdication of his father, Jean. Jean's portrait on the francs showed him facing to the right and it is common in a number of countries for successive monarchs to alternate the direction they faced on coins. Other euro coins issued by member states which are monarchies show their monarchs facing to the left, in common with the effigy on their legacy currencies.
Mintage 15,000 pieces

To return to the previous page, please hit the Back button on your browser or click here