Malta 2 euros 2013 - Establishment of Self-Government in 1921

Obverse of Malta 2 euros 2013 - Establishment of Self-Government in 1921
Details Malta started a series of five 2 euro commemorative coins, all related to the Maltese constitutional history, which includes the following coins: 2011 - First Election of Representatives in 1849, 2012 - 1887 Majority Representation, 2013 - Establishment of Self-Government in 1921, 2014 - Independence from Britain in 1964 and 2015 - Proclamation of the Republic of Malta in 1974

The current Constitution of Malta was adopted as a legal order on September 21, 1964, and is the self-declared supreme law of the land. Therefore, any law or action in violation of the Constitution is null and void. Being a rigid constitution, it has a three-tier entrenchment basis in order for any amendments to take place.

Issue date: October/November 2013
Specifications Diameter - 25.75mm Thickness - 2.2mm Weight - 8.5gr
Composition BiAlloy (Nk/Ng), ring Cupronickel (75% copper - 25% nickel clad on nickel core), center Nickel brass (75% copper - 20% zinc - 5% nickel)
Edge Combination of the number 2 and two Maltese Crosses, repeated six times
Mintage 450,000 pieces

To return to the previous page, please hit the Back button on your browser or click here