Netherlands Official Blister 2012

Obverse of Netherlands Official Blister 2012
Details The 2012 Netherlands Official Uncirculated Coin Set is the first release in an annual series of five sets with the theme Dutch Entrepreneurship. The highlight of this first set is the Heineken brewery company. The set contains the standard Dutch euro coins displayed in an attractive blister pack, as well as the commemorative 2 euro coin 2012 "10 Years of the Euro".

On 1 January 2002, euro banknotes and coins were introduced in 12 Member States of the European Union. The introduction of the euro cash was an unprecedented challenge, but it went smoothly, and billions of banknotes and coins started to circulate in a matter of days. Five more Member States adopted the euro in later years, so a total of 17 Member States – and 332 million people – use the currency as of 2011. It has become a symbol of Europe, and the banknotes and coins have become a part of european citizens daily lives.

Dutch euro coins have two designs by Bruno Ninaber van Eyben, both of which feature a portrait or effigy of Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands. Like in Finland, the Dutch have decided not to issue one and two cent coins anymore starting from September 1, 2004.
Mintage 25,000 pieces

To return to the previous page, please hit the Back button on your browser or click here