Spain Official Blister - Cordoba 2010

Spain Official Blister - Cordoba 2010
Obverse of Spain Official Blister - Cordoba 2010
Details The Official Blister 2010 "Cordoba" contains the 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 cent coins and 1, 2 euros (unc), as well as the commemorative 2 euros honoring the Historic Centre of Cordoba.

The (Great) Mezquita (of Cordoba or Cordova), now known as Catedral de Nuestra Senora de la Asuncion (English: Cathedral of the Assumption of the Virgin) is a Roman Catholic Cathedral originally built as a Mosque on the place (and partly with materials) of what previously had been a Christian Visigothic Church in the Andalusian city of Cordoba, Spain. It is regarded as perhaps the most accomplished monument of the Umayyad dynasty of Cordoba.

In April 1998 the Spanish Prime Minister unveiled the designs chosen for the national side of the Spanish coins: the 1 and 2 euro coins bear the effigy of King Juan Carlos I; the 10, 20 and 50 cent coins have the portrait of Miguel de Cervantes, the father of Spanish literature; and the 1, 2 and 5 cent coins depict the Obradoiro facade of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, one of the masterpieces of Spanish baroque. The final images of the three designs are the work of the Spanish Royal Mint's engravers: Garcilaso Rollan designed the 1, 2 and 5 cent coins; Begona Castellanos the 10, 20 and 50 cent coins; and Luis Jose Diaz those of 1 and 2 euro.
Mintage 25,000 pieces

To return to the previous page, please hit the Back button on your browser or click here