France Euro Coins

Over 1,200 designs were considered for the national side of the French coins. A panel chaired by the Minister for Economic Affairs and Finance chose three designs, each for certain specific denominations. The panel consisted of experts in numismatics, artists, a former Member of the European Commission (Christine Scrivener), Members of Parliament, the French Mint Director Emmanuel Constans, the General Engraver Pierre Rodier and the actress Irene Jacob, along with members of professional bodies. Please take a look at The French National Mint

The minor series was designed by Fabienne Courtiade, the middle one by Laurent Jorio and the major two coins are by Joaquim Jimenez. All designs share the 12 stars of the EU and the year of imprint as well as the letters "RF" for Republique Francaise (French Republic). In the French Euro Zone the overseas territories of French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique and Reunion are also included.

The French 2 euro coin edge inscription

The edge of the French euro coins
The sequence "2 * *" repeated six times alternately upright and inverted

Mintmarks on French euro coins

Monnaie de Paris 1999, 2000 2001, 2002 2003 2004 - 2010 2011 - Present
Monnaie de Paris Mintmark Pierre Rodier Mintmark Gerard Buquoy Mintmark Serge Levet Mintmark Hubert Lariviere Mintmark Fleurette d'atelier depicts a pentagon with the letters AG (Atelier de Gravure = engraving workshop) and illustrates the teamwork spirit
Monnaie de Paris
Pierre Rodier
Gerard Buquoy
Stylized heart
Serge Levet
Hunting horn, wave and fish
Hubert Lariviere
Pentagon with the letters AG, MP and YS
Yves Sampo

Unfortunately, we could not find any coins for this country. Please check back later!