Currencies and countries

The World Currencies Database includes 788 currency symbols, names and countries with historical or other coinage information and has received over 408198 search inquires.

Selected title: Euro
Explanation: Monetary unit adopted by 12 European Union (EU) countries on 1 Jan. 2002 - Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Monetary control was to move to the European Central Bank (ECB), which would set a single interest rate for the 11 countries. The three other members of the EU Denmark, Sweden and the U.K. were not adopting the euro, at least for the time being. The euro entered full circulation in the middle of 2002

A currency is a unit of exchange and hence a kind of money and medium of exchange. Currency includes paper banknotes and metal coins, which today are the dominant means of exchange. If you could not find the title you were looking for, or if you know a title which is not included in the Dictionary, please help us improve this service by reporting your findings.

Most popular currency searches

Currency or countrySearchesPercentage
NUr$ 15278  10.19%
NUr$ 15278  10.19%
GS 12824  8.56%
SKr 11247  7.50%
Ptas 10601  7.07%
RO 9586  6.40%
Euro 5847  3.90%
FKr 5778  3.85%
CFA Franc 5717  3.81%
Mexico 5710  3.81%
Czechoslovakia 5454  3.64%
Fmk 5397  3.60%
Continental dollars 5322  3.55%
Saudi Arabia 5290  3.53%
Greece 5279  3.52%
Japan 5135  3.43%
fen 5135  3.43%
Brazil 5043  3.36%
Spain 5031  3.36%
Hungary 4938  3.29%