Monetary System

Circulating Coins
1 tolarjev = 100 stotinov

Stotinov: 10, 20, 50 / Tolarjev: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50
On January 1, 1999, the European Monetary Union introduced the euro as a common currency to be used by the financial institutions of member countries; Three years later, on 1 January 2002, the euro became the sole currency for everyday transactions with the member countries

The Slovene lands were part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire until the latter's dissolution at the end of World War I. In 1918, the Slovenes joined the Serbs and Croats in forming a new multinational state, which was named Yugoslavia in 1929. After World War II, Slovenia became a republic of the renewed Yugoslavia, which though Communist, distanced itself from Moscow's rule. Dissatisfied with the exercise of power by the majority Serbs, the Slovenes succeeded in establishing their independence in 1991 after a short 10-day war. Historical ties to Western Europe, a strong economy, and a stable democracy have assisted in Slovenia's transformation to a modern state. Slovenia acceded to both NATO and the EU in the spring of 2004.

Borders Austria 330 km, Croatia 670 km, Hungary 102 km, Italy 280 km
Economy Population: 2,010,347 (July 2006 est.)
GDP per capita: $21,500 (2005 est.)

The Austrian Kronen (ATK) circulated in Slovenia while it was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Initially, the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats and Slovenes introduced their own Kronen (YUK), which were quickly replaced by the Serb Dinar (YUS) at the rate of 1 Dinar equal to 4 Kronen. During World War II, Italian Lira were used in the parts of Slovenia annexed by Italy, and German Reichsmarks were used in the parts of Slovenia annexed by Germany. Germany issued special Lira (SIL) banknotes for the Province of Laibach (Ljubljana) in 1944, issued by the Savings Bank of the Province of Ljubljana.

In April 1945, Yugoslavia was liberated, and the Yugoslav Federation Dinar was introduced with official rates of exchange set at 1 Yugoslav Federation Dinar (YUF) equal to 40 Croatian Kuna or 20 Serbian Dinars, and 50 YUF equal to 1 US Dollar. Because of persistent inflation a Hard Dinar (YUD) had to be introduced on January 1, 1966 with 1 Hard Dinar equal to 100 Yugoslav Dinar. A New Dinar (YUN) was introduced on January 1, 1990 with 1 Convertible Dinar equal to 10,000 Hard Dinars.

After Slovenia gained its independence, the Central Bank issued the Slovene Tolar Bons (SIB) at par with the Yugoslav Dinar on October 8, 1991. The Tolar replaced the Tolar Bons at par on October 7, 1992.